Ómicron is already in five countries in America: events and trips are suspended

The omicron variant of concern already circulates in five countries in America: Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Chile and Argentina and, although there is still no evidence on how serious it is during the covid-19 disease, it has been confirmed so far that it is more contagious, and more than a dozen nations have already ordered travel and activity restrictions as prevention.

“A new variant that can expand rapidly can take a toll on confidence and in this sense, we will probably see cuts over our October projections for global growth (4.9%),” said the managing director of the International Monetary Fund, Kristalina Georgieva.

The fear that omicron will become the most predominant, increase the risk of hospitalizations and deaths from covid-19, triggered the United States to demand from international travelers, in addition to their “covid passport”, a negative proof of covid-19 carried out 24 hours before leaving for this country. Previously, the test could be carried out 72 hours before.

They also require that all travelers wear masks at airports, airplanes, and public transportation. This country confirmed the circulation of the omicron variant in at least 15 states: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin.

In Nicaragua, the authorities of the Ministry of Health (Minsa) have not provided any information on this new variant. Neither have they explained what is the impact of the other four variants of concern in the country after confirming their circulation on November 16.

Rio de Janeiro cancels its New Year’s Eve party

From Latin America and the Caribbean, Brazil was the first country to identify this new variant. After being one of the countries hardest hit by covid-19: with 22 million infections and 615,000 deaths, the authorities decided to close the borders to six countries in Africa and the 2022 carnival is also expected to be suspended.

In Rio de Janeiro, the second most populous city in Brazil, the authorities have already canceled the official New Year’s Eve party. “I make the decision with sadness, but we cannot organize the celebration without the guarantee of all the health authorities,” said this December 2, the mayor of Rio de Janeiro, Eduardo Paes.

With this decision, there are already 21 regional capitals – out of a total of 27 – that have also decided not to organize any type of public event or concerts to welcome 2022, among them Sao Paulo, the most populous city in the country.

Several countries deny entry to travelers from South Africa

After confirming the rapid spread of the omicron variant, which is already found in at least 40 countries, Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, Guatemala, Peru, joined the migratory restrictions of citizens from South Africa and also from Namibia, Botswana, Mozambique, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Eswatini and Egypt.

In the case of Peru, the authorities advanced for next December 10 a series of restrictive measures that they had planned to avoid an outbreak at the end of the year. These include: the requirement of a physical or digital vaccination card to enter public spaces.

Likewise, the Government of Peru reported for Christmas and New Year there will be curfews from 1:00 am to 4:00 am “We are going to be very strict in what has to do with the attendance to the beaches (since it was a very important source of contagion last year) and we are coordinating this with local governments ”, reported.

In Argentina, it was established that all people who enter the country from Africa or who have been in that continent in the last 14 days prior to arrival must undergo a quarantine and at the time of entry, travelers must undergo an antigen test.

Europe expands restrictions on omicron

The restrictions also occurred in several European countries. France stepped up its booster vaccination campaign against covid-19 and toughens entry rules for arrivals from outside the European Union in response to the spread of the omicron variant.

In the case of Portugal, they strengthened control at all airports, sea ports and land borders and all passengers arriving by sea or by air will have to present a negative test upon arrival, with the sole exception of people who have a certificate. recovery.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Previous Story

Congress decides TODAY LIVE if it advances or not with the presidential vacancy

Next Story

Scotiabank is committed to inclusion with a new card in braille

Latest from Nicaragua