The Costa Rica coach assures that "we can achieve what we want"

The Costa Rica coach assures that “we can achieve what we want”

The coach of Costa Rica, the Colombian Luis Fernando Suarez, He stated after learning about the eventual group of the Qatar 2022 World Cup with Spain, Germany and Japan, that with the union of the group and working as a team his players can “achieve whatever they want”.

“In the group if something has kept them well it is the group bonding, cohesion and that they are emotionally strong. As a team they can achieve what they want and that must be the constant,” Suárez said in statements distributed by the Costa Rican Football Federation from Qatar, where the coach was present at the World Cup draw.

Suárez recalled that Costa Rica must first beat New Zealand in the playoff on June 14 to qualify for the World Cup and place in Group E along with Spain, Germany and Japan.

“Always seriously thinking about doing the right thing in the next game and qualifying, and then you have to try even harder to be protagonists and make the country look good” in the World Cup, the coach said.

Regarding the Group E teams, Suárez commented that “European teams will always be the favorites” and in the case of Japan he described it as a “very fast, agile and disciplined” team.

The coach asked the Costa Rican fans to maintain “the joy” with which they supported the team in the tie and their players to “believe that things can be achieved.”

If they qualify, Qatar 2022 will be the sixth World Cup for Costa Rica and the third in a row.

In all of its participations, Costa Rica has faced world champions in the group stage: a Brazil in 1990, 2002 and 2018; to Germany in 2006 already England, Uruguay and Italy in what in 2014 was called the “group of death” and of which the Ticos ended up as undefeated leaders against all odds.

By 2022, Costa Rica’s challenge would also be capitalbecause he would share a group with two champions like Spain and Germany.

Los Ticos have only made it out of the group stage twice: in 1990 when they reached the second round and in 2014 when they were eliminated in the quarter-finals by the Netherlands on penalties.

read also

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

March was India’s hottest in 122 years

Next Story

FA will denounce the president of ANP Juan Curbelo for hiding information from Parliament

Latest from soccer