El actor Will Smith agrediendo al presentador Chris Rock durante la 94ª ceremonia de los Premios Oscar. Foto: Sporting News.

The Academy prohibits the participation of the actor Will Smith in all its events for ten years

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences met Friday to address the aftermath of actor Will Smith’s slapping of host Chris Rock during the telecast of the 94th Academy Awards. The measure consisted of prohibiting him from participating in all Academy events, including the Oscars, for ten years.

“The Oscars were meant to be a celebration of the many people in our community who did amazing work last year; however, they were overshadowed by the unacceptable and harmful behavior we saw Mr. Smith exhibit on stage. During our broadcast, we did not adequately address the situation in the room. For this, we are sorry. It was an opportunity to set an example for our guests, viewers and our Academy family around the world, and we fell short, unprepared for an unprecedented event,” the Academy said in a statement.

He added: “Today, the Board of Governors called a meeting to discuss how best to respond to Will Smith’s actions at the Oscars, in addition to accepting his resignation. The Board has decided that Mr. Smith will not be permitted to attend any Academy event or program, in person or virtually, for a period of ten years beginning April 8, 2022, including but not limited to the Academy Awards. of the Academy. We want to express our deep gratitude to Mr. Rock for maintaining his composure under extraordinary circumstances. We also want to thank our hosts, nominees, presenters, and winners for his poise and grace during our broadcast. This action we are taking today in response to Will Smith’s behavior is one step toward a larger goal of protecting the safety of our artists and guests, and restoring trust in the Academy. We also hope that a time of healing and restoration can begin for all involved and impacted.”

Will Smith resigns from the Academy

The Academy began official disciplinary proceedings on March 30 and originally scheduled a Board meeting for April 18 to take disciplinary action. However, in light of Smith’s resignation as a member of the Academy, on April 1, its president, David Rubin, moved the meeting to this Friday.

Smith assaulted Chris Rock after the comedian made a joke about his wife, actress Jada Pinkett Smith’s shaved head.

Academy members and Hollywood professionals criticized the decision to allow the actor and producer of king richard accept his Oscar statuette and talk for several minutes without interruption. When the disciplinary proceedings were announced, the Academy said in a statement that Smith had refused to leave the ceremony, a claim that multiple sources have refuted.

The Academy Standards of Conduct process was updated in December 2017 in the wake of the movement I too and the expulsion of Harvey Weinstein.

Currently 54 people sitting on the Board of Governors. Each of the 17 branches of the Academy is represented by three governors nominated by the President and by the elected Board. Twelve of the members are serving on the Board for the first time after being elected in June 2021.

Source link

Previous Story

President ASODREPOL: “New Treasury resolution is a setback”

Latest from Cuba