Site icon Latin america News

COE raises to 16 the provinces under alert for trough

COE eleva a 16 las provincias bajo alerta por vaguada

Santo Domingo.- The Emergency Operations Center (COE) maintains eight provinces on yellow alert and eight on green alert due to possible flooding, because due to the current movement of the troughit is likely that the rainy accompanied by thunderstorms.

The COE said that the provinces on yellow alert are: Gran Santo Domingo, Monte Plata, San Pedro de Macorís, San Cristóbal, La Altagracia, La Romana, El Seibo and Hato Mayor.

While on green alert are: Duarte, Barahona, Azua, San José de Ocoa, Samaná, María Trinidad Sánchez, Sánchez Ramírez and Pedernales.

You may also like: The provinces on alert due to the presence of a trough increase to 15

The National Meteorological Office (Onamet) said that it is expected that the rest of the afternoon and hours of the night of this Sunday will continue the rainfall over the country towards the aforementioned areas, where heavy downpours accompanied by electrical storms and gusts would be recorded. of wind until the early hours of the morning.

Meanwhile, for the early hours of Monday morning, the Onamet said that some cloudy and isolated rains will be present in towns on the Atlantic and Caribbean coasts, as well as other points in the northeast and the Central Cordillera, expecting that in the afternoon Until the early hours of the night there will be cloudy increases that will leave possibly strong downpours in isolated points, accompanied by electrical storms and gusts of wind towards provinces in the northwest, northeast, southwest, the Central Cordillera and the border area.

He explained that as a result of the cloudy weather and the rains that have been occurring, temperatures will remain pleasant during the day and will be especially cool at night towards towns located in mountainous areas in the interior of the country.

Source link

Exit mobile version