Báez already plays the first point of the series between Argentina and Italy

Báez already plays the first point of the series between Argentina and Italy

Báez opens the series against the Italians / Photo: AAT

The tennis player Sebastián Báez is playing against Matteo Berrettini for the first point of the best-of-three series between Argentina and Italy, for Group A of the 2022 Davis Cup Finals, in the Italian city of Bologna.

Báez, 37 in the ATP world ranking, took the first point against Berrettini (15) at the Unipol Arena stadium in the Italian city, with a capacity for 20,000 spectators.

Next, Francisco Cerúndolo (27), who will make his absolute debut in the Davis Cup, will face Sinner (11), and then the series will conclude with the doubles point between the Argentines Horacio Zeballos and Máximo González against the Italians Fabio Fognini and Simone Bolelli.

The captain of the Davis Cup team in Argentina, Guillermo Coria, decided that the best tennis player in the country, Diego Schwartzman, does not participate in any of the three games of the series against Italy. The “Little” does not have any physical inconvenience, his absence is due to the rotation and strategy determined by Coria.

On the second date, Croatia beat Sweden 2-1 and that gave Argentina back hopes of qualifying for the quarterfinals that will be played in Malaga between November 23 and 27, since two teams will advance from each zone. .

So Argentina could advance to the quarter-finals if they win their two remaining games, against Italy and tomorrow against Croatia, or they could also achieve it with another combination of results even losing to the Tanos.

If Italy wins its three matches as estimated, then Argentina can beat Croatia and there the number of sets won and lost would enter to define the classification.

The Davis 2022 Finals take place in four venues, the others being Valencia, Hamburg and Glasgow.

In Valencia in Group B Spain, South Korea, Serbia and Canada compete; in Hamburg, Group C is made up of Germany, France, Australia and Belgium; while in Glasgow in Group D are Great Britain, the United States, Kazakhstan and the Netherlands.

Source link

Previous Story

Case sale of items: Prosecutor’s Office takes documentation after raiding the Fifth Municipal

Next Story

3-1: Olimpia eliminates Diriangén

Latest from Argentina