What time is it?  Mexico ends daylight saving time after 26 years

What time is it? Mexico ends daylight saving time after 26 years

Today was the last time that the majority of Mexicans changed their clocks to modify the time, since the Congress of the Union repealed that measure and issued the Law of Time Zones, which marks that in the national territory there will be a standard time and a seasonal schedule will only be applied in municipalities and states of the northern border area.

this new law entered into force on October 30, 2022after its publication in the Official Gazette of the Federation (DOF) on October 28.

What was daylight saving time?

It was a measure applied in Mexico since 1996 and modified in 2001, consisting of advancing an hour in April – to take advantage of sunlight – and maintaining that time until October 30. At the end of that month the clocks were changed again, but now to put them back, as they were the months with less natural light.

This modification in the months with less sun was known as winter time, which lasted from November to March.

Now this schedule has also disappeared, since the clocks will no longer have changes during the year, although during the months of greatest sunshine the clocks show that it is night and the sun has not yet set, or else, it dawns but it is still dark. .

Where will daylight saving time continue?

Daylight saving time will maintain states and municipalities on the northern border, which will change their clocks again in the summer of 2023.

This northern border (or summer) seasonal time will take effect from 2 am on the second Sunday in March, and will end at 2 am on the first Sunday in November.

This will occur in 11 municipalities of Coahuila: Acuña, Allende, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jiménez, Morelos, Nava, Ocampo, Piedras Negras, Villa Unión and Zaragoza. Also in the municipality of Anáhuac, in Nuevo León, as well as in Baja California.

It will also be applied in 10 municipalities of Tamaulipas, Nuevo Laredo, Guerrero, Mier, Miguel Alemán, Camargo, Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, Reynosa, Río Bravo, Valle Hermoso and Matamoros.

All those states and municipalities woke up today with different schedules from the rest of the country.

Which entities did not change time?

In Quintana Roo and Sonora there was no modification of clocks, but because those states did not participate in the summer time program, so they will not have an impact due to the legal reform.

In the case of the first entity, on February 1, 2015, it modified its time zone and has an Eastern Standard Time that remains static throughout the year, for the benefit of its main economic activity, tourism.

In the case of Sonora, since 1998 it decided, due to its economic integration with Arizona, the United States – with which it shares 500 kilometers of border – to have its hours synchronized.

Neither the Mexican nor the North American states apply summer time, in the latter case, since 1968.

cookie : true, xfbml : true, version : 'v8.0' });



(function(d, s, id){ var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;} js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));

Source link

Previous Story

Cardinal Brenes will hold private audiences with Pope Francis

Next Story

The day that Díaz-Canel undertook it against Cubans for celebrating Halloween

Latest from Mexico