Roberto Samcam: "Nicaragua, Russia and China are a danger to the United States"

The US sanctions 13 Ortega officials responsible for the denationalizations and confiscations of opponents

USA He expanded his list of Nicaraguans who are not welcome to enter that country for being corrupt, undermining the democratic processes and the institutional framework in their country.

This time those punished with that sanction of the immediate revocation of the US visa or the denial of entry to that nation are, for the most part, the members of the board of directors of the National Assembly, who have been in charge of following the direct orders of the Executive to modify legislation or approve new laws in the nation to the detriment of human rights, the independence of State powers and with which they have granted the dictator Daniel Ortega greater control over all social spheres in Nicaragua.

Related news: Ortega eliminates by law the “professionalism” of the Police and approves prison for deserting agents

Among the deputies who will no longer be able to enter the United States, nor will they be able to take advantage of the humanitarian parole, are: Arling Patricia Alonso GomezFirst Vice President of the National Assembly, Gladis de los Angeles BaezSecond Vice President of Parliament, Loria Raquel Dixon Brautigam, first secretary of the National Assembly; and Alejandro Mejia Ferrettithird secretary of that State power.

These four executives had their visas removed for “undermining democratic processes and institutions by participating in coordinated government reprisals to strip political opponents and critics of the Ortega-Murillo regime of their Nicaraguan citizenship.”

Prosecutor punished for confiscations

In the list published this Wednesday, July 19, there is also Wendy Carolina Morales Urbina, Attorney General of Nicaragua. The United States accuses her of undermining “democratic processes or institutions by using her position to facilitate a coordinated campaign to suppress dissent, by seizing property from government political opponents without legal basis. Urbina has also seized property from thousands of non-governmental organizations under laws explicitly designed to suppress freedom of association.”

Others that appear are Rosa Argentina Solis Davila and Angela Davila Navarrete, judges of the Criminal Court of Appeals of Managua. The United States sees them as one of the main people responsible for suppressing Nicaraguan dissent by stripping them of their nationality of origin. In total, the Ortega regime decided to eliminate this constitutional right for 317 Nicaraguans.

The current Assembly is dominated by the government party with 71 deputies out of 92 that make up the Legislative Branch. | Photo: National Assembly

Directors of the UAF and SIBOIF, among those sanctioned

Likewise, mention is made of a group of members of the Financial Analysis Unit (UAF) and the Superintendency of Banks, who are punished for supporting the stripping of nationality, lending themselves to the freezing of bank accounts, the seizure of assets from affected persons or provide financial information of affected citizens.

Denis Membreño Rivas, director of the Financial Analysis Unit (UAF), Aldo Martin Saenz Ulloacurrent deputy director of the UAF, Valeria Maritza Halleslevens Ryedirector of the National Directorate of Property Registries (DNR), Eduardo Celestino Ortega Roadeputy director of the DNR and Marta Mayela Diaz Ortizcurrent vice superintendent of banks and other financial institutions (SIBOIF), make up that group.

Lastly, they include Tabernacle of Fatima Benavides Lanuza, deputy director of the Nicaraguan Social Security Institute. They target her for supporting the confiscations of pensions from political opponents of the Nicaraguan dictatorship without a legal basis.

Former President Funes, who is in Nicaragua, is sentenced to 14 years in prison in El Salvador
Former President Funes, who is in Nicaragua, is sentenced to 14 years in prison in El Salvador. IMAGE: ARTICLE66

In the document, it is noted that those involved “with government contracts are also punished; bribery and extortion; the facilitation or transfer of the proceeds of corruption, including through money laundering; and acts of violence, harassment, or intimidation directed at government and non-government corruption investigators.”

On the list, which includes officials or former public officials from Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala and Nicaragua, are the two former presidents accused of corruption in El Salvador and listed as Ortega’s protégés, Mauricio Funes and Salvador Sánchez Cerén.

“The Department will continue to review the individuals listed in the report and will consider all available tools to deter and disrupt corrupt and undemocratic activity in El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. The Department also continues to review additional credible information and allegations of corruption or undemocratic activity and uses all appropriate authorities, as appropriate, to ensure that corrupt or undemocratic officials are denied a safe haven in the United States,” they warn.

Source link

Previous Story

They extend price control of 18 products of the basic basket

Next Story

18 Cuban passengers prevented from boarding a Condor flight in Varadero

Latest from Nicaragua