Petro participates in the VII Celac Summit in Buenos Aires

Petro participates in the VII Celac Summit in Buenos Aires

The President of the Republic, Gustavo Petro, arrived in Buenos Aires on Tuesday to participate in the VII Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (Celac).

(Celac Summit 2023 receives more attendees).

During his stay in the Argentine capital, the Colombian Head of State will also have bilateral meetings with leaders and directors of international organizations.

First of all, the Colombian President will attend the opening of the Summit, by the President of Argentina, Alberto Fernández, which will be at the Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center. Then, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the host country, Santiago Cafiero, will deliver a report of the Pro Tempore Presidency of CELAC exercised by Argentina.

Subsequently, President Petro will intervene in the plenary session of the Celac meeting.

The agenda includes bilateral meetings of the Head of State with the President of the Council of Europe, Charles Michel, and with former US Senator Chris Dodd, special presidential advisor for the Americas.

(What is Celac’s proposal to integrate Latin America?).

In addition, President Petro will meet with the President of the Plurinational State of Bolivia, Luis Arce, and with the Director of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), QU Dongyu.

President Petro will be accompanied by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Álvaro Leyva Durán; the Chief of Staff of the Presidency of the Republic, Laura Sarabia; the Minister of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, Germán Umaña, and the Vice Minister of Multilateral Affairs, Laura Gil.

The Community of Latin American and Caribbean States is a regional coordination and integration mechanism created on December 3, 2011, to promote the political, economic, social and cultural integration of the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.; increase social welfare, quality of life, and economic growth in the region, and promote independent and sustainable development, based on democracy, equity, and social justice.

The group is made up of 33 countries, of which 18 are Spanish-speaking, 12 English-speaking, one Portuguese-speaking, one French-speaking and one Dutch-speaking.

Its first Summit was held in 2013 in Chile and the last one was in Mexico in 2021.


Source link

Previous Story

Classified documents found in former Vice President Mike Pence’s home

Latest from Colombia