"Diplomatic storm" continues, adviser to Switzerland and UN resigns

Ortega congratulates South Ossetia for “sovereignty”, a country not recognized by the UN

The Nicaraguan government headed by Sandinista Daniel Ortega congratulated the Georgian separatist region of South Ossetia on Monday, which it recognizes as an independent country, on the 32nd anniversary of the proclamation of its sovereignty.

“We are proud to express, on behalf of the people and Government of Reconciliation and National Unity of the Republic of Nicaragua and on our own behalf, our most sincere congratulations,” said President Ortega and his wife, Vice President Rosario Murillo, to the South Ossetian leader, Alan Gagloev, in a letter.

On September 20, 1990 local deputies proclaimed sovereignty and the creation of the Republic of South Ossetia.

In response, on December 10 of the same year, the Georgian Parliament declared the autonomy of South Ossetia abolished.

Related news: South Ossetian soldiers heading to Ukraine to support Russian troops

Nicaragua is one of the governments that recognizes South Ossetia as an independent republic, considered by Georgia as part of its territory occupied by Russia.

Ortega recognized the independence of South Ossetia, along with that of Abkhazia, in 2008, shortly after Russia, a decision that was also adopted by Nauru, Syria, Tuvalu and Venezuela.

Related news: Ortega, alone and isolated: Not even the dictators of Cuba and Venezuela accompanied him in the act of July 19

“On this solemn date that commemorates the 32nd anniversary of the adoption of the declaration on the sovereignty of the State of the Democratic Soviet Republic of South Ossetia, we convey our fraternal and revolutionary greetings and reiterate our best wishes,” Ortega and Murillo highlighted in the missive.

South Ossetia is one of 18 countries with which Nicaragua has a mutual diplomatic visa waiver agreement, along with Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Serbia, Sweden, and Switzerland, according to information from the Nicaraguan Legislative Branch.

South Ossetia recognized the re-election of Ortega and Murillo in the general elections last November, whose legitimacy was rejected by the Organization of American States (OAS), the European Union, and various countries, because it was obtained with seven of their rivals in prison and two in exile, as well as the elimination of three opposition parties.

Source link

Previous Story

They apprehended more than 500 people in the last 72 hours

Next Story

The US Congress will interrogate the CEOs of big banks

Latest from Nicaragua