Nobel Peace Prize for a Belarusian, a Ukrainian and a Russian organization

Nobel Peace Prize for a Belarusian, a Ukrainian and a Russian organization

The Belarusian Ales Bialiatski and the Russian organizations Memorial and the Ukrainian Center for Civil Liberties will receive the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize “for criticizing power” and “denounce crimes against humanity”, The Norwegian Nobel Committee, based in Oslo, announced this Friday.

In context: Two Americans and a Dane win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry

The Norwegian Nobel Committee “wishes honor three outstanding champions of human rights, democracy and peaceful coexistence in neighboring Belarus, Russia and Ukraine,” communicated when announcing the names of the winners.

Bialiatski “was one of the initiators of the democratic movement that arose in Belarus in the mid-1980s. He has dedicated his life to promoting democracy and peaceful development in his home country,” the committee noted.

Byaliatsky created Viasna (Spring) “In response to constitutional reforms that gave authoritarian powers to the president, he is currently detained without trial,” recalled Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the committee, announcing the shared award.

More information: Three quantum mechanics researchers won the Nobel Prize for Physics

As for the Russian NGO Memorial, the committee recalls that collected and verified information on abuses and war crimes perpetrated against the population by the Russian and pro-Russian forces. “In 2009, the head of the Memorial branch in Chechnya, Natalia Estemirova, was killed because of this work.”

Memorial is based on the notion that confronting past crimes is essential to preventing new ones. The organization has also been at the forefront of efforts to combat militarism and promote human rights and a government based on the rule of law, the organization explained.

Memorial was created in 1987 by human rights activists in the former Soviet Union They wanted to make sure that the victims of the oppression of the communist regime were never forgotten.

As for the Center for Civil Liberties, was founded with the purpose of promoting human rights and democracy in Ukraine. “He has taken a position to strengthen Ukrainian civil society and put pressure on the authorities to make Ukraine a full-fledged democracy,” the committee notes.+

You may be interested in: Denis Mukwege and Yazidi Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

The Ukrainian center “has become an important source for documenting war crimes by Russia and plays a “pioneering role” in holding the guilty to account”.

“With its constant efforts in favor of humanist values, anti-militarism and principles of law, this year’s winners have revitalized and honored the vision of peace and brotherhood among nations of Alfred Nobel, a much-needed vision in today’s world,” he adds.

The Peace Award is the fifth of the awards announced so far, after those of Medicine, Physics, Chemistry and Literature, and succeeds awarded in 2021 to two journalists, the Filipino María Ressa and the Russian Dmitry Muratov.

Source link

Previous Story

Cuban government approves another hundred MSMEs

Next Story

Parliamentarians collide head-on over “subsidiarity of the State” and fail to reach agreements a month into the constituent dialogue

Latest from Colombia