IPU delegation completes first phase in Ukraine and addresses Russia in favor of peace

IPU delegation completes first phase in Ukraine and addresses Russia in favor of peace

Photo: Beatriz Argimón/Twitter.
Photo: Beatriz Argimón/Twitter.

Argimón referred to the importance of working days. “These days have been very intense for the mission entrusted to us by the IPU to build bridges between the parliaments of Ukraine and Russia. During the work meetings we have had confidentiality. After the first phase in kyiv and a subsequent meeting with the president of the Polish Parliament, we continued our trip to Moscow”.

This Wednesday the 13th, the delegation held a meeting with the President of the Polish Senate, Mr. Tomasz Grodzki, and the Vice President of the Senate, Ms. Gabriela Morawska-Stanecka (Polish Parliament).

Previously, on Monday the 11th, they toured several conflict zones in Ukraine.

They then had a working lunch with the resident coordinator ai of the United Nations, Mr. Murat Sahin, along with heads of UN agencies.

Later, the meeting was with the Speaker of the Parliament (Verkhovna Rada) of Ukraine, Mr. Ruslan Stefanchuk at the Ukrainian Parliament Building.

Later, the meeting was with the Ukrainian parliamentary delegation to the IPU.

Argimón also participated in a meeting with the General Prosecutor of Ukraine, Ms. Iryna Venediktova (General Prosecutor’s Office).

encourage dialogue

The mission of the delegation, which is headed to Russia, is to “encourage dialogue between the parliamentarians of the two countries” and “help formulate viable peaceful solutions, within the framework of an institutional order based on rules.”

It began on July 7 and Vice President Argimón is expected to return to the country on July 17.

The delegation is made up of Argimón, who will represent the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Ali Rashid Al Nuaimi (United Arab Emirates), Vice President of the IPU and who will coordinate the working groups; Peter Katjavivi (Namibia); Nosiviwe Noluthando Mapisa – Nqakula (South Africa); and Arda Gerkens (The Netherlands). Also Avi Dichter (Israel); Aigul Saifollakyzy Kuspan (Kazakhstan); Fadli Zon (Indonesia); Ambassador Anda Filip (IPU).

Source link

Previous Story

New trial begins for control of gold

Next Story

They ask Luis Abinader to announce the closure of Punta Catalina

Latest from Uruguay