Iga Swiatek meets the forecasts and wins his second Roland Garros

Iga Swiatek meets the forecasts and wins his second Roland Garros

Great favorite for the title before the start of the tournament, the Polish Iga Swiatek, undisputed world N.1, fulfilled the predictions and this Saturday defeated the young American Coco Gauff (18 years old) 6-1 and 6-3 in the final to win his second Roland Garros.

With this victory, achieved in just 1 hour and 8 minutes, Swiatek has won 35 consecutive matches, equaling the best streak in the 21st century that the American Venus Williams had since 2000, and has won the last six tournaments she has played.

Following the withdrawal of Australian Ashley Barty in March, Swiatek has risen to the top of the women’s tennis world and has been unstoppable since reaching No. 1 in the WTA rankings.

Swiatek, who won Roland Garros for the first time in 2020, In the edition postponed to the European autumn due to the pandemic, she succeeds the Czech Barbora Krejcikova, eliminated in this edition in the first round by the French Diane Parry.

Winners of the women’s tournament Roland Garros singles (since the start of the ‘Open era’):

1968: Nancy Richey (USA)

1969: Margaret Court (A.U.S.)

1970: Margaret Court (AUS)

1971: Evonne Goolagong (AUS)

1972: Billie Jean King (USA)

1973: Margaret Court (A.U.S.)

1974: Chris Evert (USA)

1975: Chris Evert (USA)

1976: Sue Barker (GBR)

1977: Mima Jausovec (Y.U.G.)

1978: Virginia Ruzici (ROM)

1979: Chris Evert (USA)

1980: Chris Evert (USA)

1981: Hana Mandlikova (CZE)

1982: Martina Navratilova (USA)

1983: Chris Evert (USA)

1984: Martina Navratilova (USA)

1985: Chris Evert (USA)

1986: Chris Evert (USA)

1987: Steffi Graf (GER)

1988: Steffi Graf (GER)

1989: Arancha Sánchez Vicario (ESP)

1990: Monica Seles (YUG)

1991: Monica Seles (YUG)

1992: Monica Seles (YUG)

1993: Steffi Graf (GER)

1994: Arancha Sánchez Vicario (ESP)

1995: Steffi Graf (GER)

1996: Steffi Graf (GER)

1997: Iva Majoli (CRO)

1998: Arancha Sánchez Vicario (ESP)

1999: Steffi Graf (GER)

2000: Mary Pierce (FRA)

2001: Jennifer Capriati (USA)

2002: Serena Williams (USA)

2003: Justine Henin (BEL)

2004: Anastasia Myskina (RUS)

2005: Justine Henin (BEL)

2006: Justine Henin (BEL)

2007: Justine Henin (BEL)

2008: Ana Ivanovic (SRB)

2009: Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS)

2010: Francesca Schiavone (ITA)

2011: Li Na (CHN)

2012: Maria Sharapova (RUS)

2013: Serena Williams (USA)

2014: Maria Sharapova (RUS)

2015: Serena Williams (USA)

2016: Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP)

2017: Jelena Ostapenko (LAT)

2018: Simona Halep (ROM)

2019: Ashleigh Barty (AU)

2020: Iga Swiatek (POL)

2021: Barbora Krejcikova (CZE)

2022: Iga Swiatek (POL)

NOTE: Before the start of the ‘Open era’ in 1968, the tournament had been played since 1891, with breaks during the First and Second World Wars. The French Suzanne Lenglen was champion 6 times, between 1920 and 1926.

The record for women’s titles at Roland Garros is held by the American Chris Evert, with 7.

Source link

Previous Story

Engineer is the second Brazilian to travel to space

Latest from Bolivia