Faith, traditions and holidays

Faith, traditions and holidays

Holy Week, for some, is ideal for traveling around the country and participating in one of the celebrations that take place in each town. In all corners they prepare to commemorate this week as a sample of customs of the Catholic Church and the indigenous traditions of the place.

Almost in all Bolivian cities and towns the traditional procession of the Via Crucis takes place. In some towns, people are characterized representing the Calvary of Christ. In others, the aforementioned symbiosis becomes a tourist attraction for visitorsas is the case of the residents of San José de Chiquitos with their traditional race of saints, which takes place on Good Friday.

Also in Bolivian kitchens, typical dishes are prepared that are different according to the regions, all free of red meat, out of respect for the celebration. The preparation of 12 dishes commemorating the 12 apostles who shared the last supper of Jesusis a tradition that is still maintained in the western provinces of the country.

Running through the veins of the country

Copacabana Sanctuary. The important sanctuary of the Virgin of Copacabana is located on the shores of Lake Titicaca and is one of the busiest sites during Holy Week. A pilgrimage is usually made on foot from the city of La Paz to the sanctuary, the distance to walk is more than 150 kilometers. Pilgrims cover this route in two or three days.

Easter in Tarija. It is one of the largest and most traditional festivals, each year it receives a large number of tourists for its charm and unique beauty. For this activity, San Lorenzo dresses up to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Chaco cheese festival. For 13 years, the municipality of Cuevo has held the Chaqueño Milk and Cheese Festival, with ambrosias, handicrafts, the cookie pig, measurement of the longest cheese, ballets and a malambo contest.

chiquitano region. The Jesuit missions of the east mark a mark on the inhabitants of the area who celebrate Holy Week with great devotion in the different churches. Each town lives its faith and spreads it to visitors. San José, Santiago, Santa Ana, San Rafael, San Miguel, San Ignacio, Concepción and San Javier are the towns of Chiquitano that until today have been able to preserve the mission buildings, which is why, in 1991, they were declared Cultural Heritage of Humanity. , by Unesco.

Source link

Previous Story

Operation Holy Week starts this Thursday

Next Story

Inflation: after the 6.7% reported in March, what are the expectations for April?

Latest from Bolivia

Face to face

The company changeda, but the cleanliness of the city will be the same. Since yesterday there