Constitutional Court fails to elect new presidency and vote will be repeated next week

During the day of this Thursday, July 7, the Constitutional Court (TC), held the internal vote to determine the new presidency of the body.

However, he was unable to reach an agreement, since none of the eight ministers obtained the majority of the votes necessary to succeed Cristián Letelier, who holds the position internally.

In the instance, the minister María Pía Silva obtained four votes: her own and that of the ministers Nancy Yáñez, Daniela Marzi and Nelson Pozo. Meanwhile, the remaining four members decided to abstain.

As a result of this situation, the body will have to promote a new vote, which was set for next week.

It should be noted that the former UDI deputy, Cristián Letelier, became the presidency of the TC on March 21 of this year internally. This, after the end of the mandate of Juan José Romero and the end of the period of three other magistrates.

In this way, the role will continue to be played until -by a majority- the ministers agree on the name of the next president in charge of the body.

Follow us on

The Google News Desk

(function(d, s, id){ var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;} js = d.createElement(s); = id; js.src = ""; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));


js = d.createElement(s); = id;

js.src = "//";

fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);

}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));

Source link

Previous Story

Council of State leaves safe rules that allow ‘fracking’

Latest from Chile