Temporada ciclónica 2022: Se esperan 19 ciclones tropicales con nombre en el Atlántico

2022 hurricane season: 19 named tropical cyclones expected in the Atlantic

By: Anyary Ventura

SANTO DOMINGO.- The National Meteorology Office (ONAMET) reported that the Cyclonic Season, which begins on June 1, is active for the Dominican Republic due to its geographical position in the Caribbean.

The Cyclonic Season begins on June 1 and ends on November 30, a period in which it is recommended that civil protection institutions and the Dominican population remain attentive to the meteorological information issued by ONAMET.

Meteorology specified that its considerations are supported by the report of the Group of Experts of the University of Colorado, United States and the researcher Philip Klotzbach, where in the last forecast for the month of April they reported that the formation of 19 tropical cyclones named with a annual average of 14.

It was also reported that among these cyclones, nine could reach the category of hurricane with winds of 119 kph, of which four hurricanes could be intense, with winds greater than 178 kilometers per hour, according to 30-year statistical studies of the cyclonology of the region.

Another condition that the experts analyzed was the latest numerical models that project for this year the condition of the “NIÑA” phenomenon will be present until the end of the summer of 2022.

The names of the tropical cyclones for this year 2022 will be: Alex, Bonnie, Colin, Danielle, Earl, Fiona, Gastón, Hermine, Ian, Julia, Karl, Lisa, Martin, Nicole, Owen, Paula, Richard, Shary, Tobias, Virginia, Walter.

Source link

Previous Story

ANEP inaugurated premises of two educational centers in Tacuarembo

Latest from Dominican Republic