Site icon Latin america News

0-2: Mexico beat Suriname in Cocca’s debut

0-2: Mexico beat Suriname in Cocca's debut

Mexico defeated Suriname 0-2 on Thursday to take the lead in group A in the Concacaf Nations League, in the debut with the team of Argentine coach Diego Cocca.

A goal by Johan Vásquez and an own goal by Damil Dankerlui gave victory to Mexico, outclassed in the opening half, but superior in the last 45 minutes.

Mexico had possession of the ball at the beginning of the game, but little by little Suriname gained confidence and had two arrivals in the area; in minute 19 Roscello Vlijter finished off the goal with his left foot and in minute 27 Diego Viseswar created danger.

The local team, 139 in the FIFA ranking, began to dominate with their speed in the middle of the field; led by Wiseswar, stole balls and was close to violating the goal defended by goalkeeper Carlos Acevedo.

Mexico improved at the beginning of the second half and had a couple of good attacking plays; Erick Sánchez, in minute 54 and Santiago Giménez, in minute 55, finished off with a header, however, Suriname recovered a ball in minute 57 in a play with a shot from outside by Florian Josefzoon.

Antuna finished off at minute 62 and two minutes later, Vásquez made it 0-1 with a left-footed pass from Carlos Rodríguez.

Santiago Giménez missed a penalty in minute 68 and let go of the 0-2 that came in minute 82 with an own goal by Damil Dankerlui.

With the victory, Mexico took the lead in the group with two wins, one draw and seven points, two more than Jamaica and six over Suriname.

On Sunday Mexico will host Jamaica at the Azteca stadium.

Data sheet:

0. Suriname: Joey Roggeven; Damil Dankerlui, Myenty Abena (Anfernee Dijksteel m.91), Diego Viseswar (Danzell Gravenberch m.65), Shaquille Pinas; Kelvin Leerdam, Roscelo Vlijter, Dion Malone, Jeredy Hilterman (Jamilho Righters m.65); Sheraldo Becquer (Gleofilo Vlijter m.92), Florian Josefzoon (Fabian Sporksleede m.92).

Coach: Aron Winter.

2. Mexico: Carlos Acevedo; Johan Vásquez, Israel Reyes, Kevin Álvarez (Julián Araújo m.46), Gerardo Arteaga; Carlos Rodríguez (Fernando Beltrán m.79), Erick Sánchez (Marcel Ruiz m.86), Erick Gutiérrez, Uriel Antuna (Jesús Angulo m.94); Roberto Alvarado (Diego Lainez m.86), Santiago Giménez.

Coach: Diego Cocca.

Goals: 0-1, m.64: Johan Vásquez. 0-2, m.82: Damil Dankerlui, own goal.

Referee: Said Martínez, from Honduras. He booked Roscello Vlijter; Uriel Antuna and Erick Sanchez.

Incidents: Group A match of the Concacaf Nations League, held at the Franklin Essed Stadium, in Paramaribo, Suriname.

read also

Source link

Exit mobile version